top of page

Avocado Crab Salad with Arugula, Tomatoes, Pepitas & Feta

We eat a lot of fish and seafood. I'd like to say it's because I'm trying to make healthy choices, but really, I just love it. When people tell me they hate fish, it just makes me crazy. I suppose everyone has their likes and dislikes, but there are so many different types of fish and things you can do with it, it seems silly to rule out an entire category of food without doing some experimenting first. Don't get me wrong, fish can be horribly prepared and is a bit more high maintenance when it comes to expiration dates. That said, it can also be incredibly delicious and easy to prepare if you have a few tried and true recipes at the ready. So if you're trying to like fish, whether it's just to be cool or for its health benefits, start with this simple mayo-less crab salad recipe.

Similar to the tuna salad recipe I posted a few weeks ago, this crab salad is great after a day in the sun. It's simple, light and quick to prepare. In the spring and summer, I'm big on meals that can be whipped up in only a few minutes to allow the most time enjoying my time out of doors. I've probably already said this a zillion times, but that's just how true it is.

Avocado Crab Salad with Arugula, Tomatoes, Pepitas & Feta

Serves: 2

Preparation Time: 5 minutes

Avocado Crab Salad:

  • 1 can crab meat, mostly drained

  • 1 ripe avocado, diced & mashed

  • 1/4 red onion, diced or minced

  • 1 clove garlic, minced

  • 1/2 lemon, juiced

  • salt/pepper, to taste

For Assembly:

  • arugula

  • tomato, diced

  • handful of toasted pepitas

  • handful of feta crumbles

Method:

1. Pour mostly drained crab meat into a bowl. It's alright if a little of the water gets in and you may want to reserve it to add in later if needed. Or spoil your cat rotten and let him lick the water out of the can... Add avocado, onion, garlic and lemon juice. Stir to combine until ingredients are evenly distributed. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. I actually used lemon pepper and garlic salt. If it's too thick, add in some of reserved crab water. Refrigerate until ready to use.

2. When ready to eat, place arugula in a bowl. Top with the crab salad, diced tomatoes, a handful of pepitas and feta cheese.


bottom of page