top of page

Grilled Buffalo Chicken, Spinach & Romaine Salad with Sweet & Creamy Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

I know I've kind of fallen off the face of the planet when it comes to blogging this summer; though, if you keep up with Minneapple Eats on Instagram, you know I'm alive and well. The past few months has been quite the whirlwind between buying a house, having frequent out-of-town guests and baby-on-board. I think I blinked and summer was over. Even though fall is upon us, we still have some of those nice, warm summer-like days ahead. That means you can still enjoy firing up the grill for light meals, like this salad. Buffalo-blue anything is bursting with flavor and has a hearty football/bar food appeal. This light salad, though, is anything but. It's perfect with a glass of crisp white wine (I wish!) out on the deck on a breezy eve.

Since being pregnant, I've had more of taste than usual for hot sauce. Not like mouth-on-fire hot sauce, or the smoky chipotle I've always loved, but just plain vinegar-y hot sauce. I'm a big fan of Crystal, as I've noted throughout this blog, and it served as a delightfully tangy marinade for the chicken in this recipe.

One myth and downright dirty lie that gets spread in pregnancy circles is that you can't eat soft cheese. I am by no means an expert on food safety, but after much research of my beloved soft cheeses, I have found that it's A-ok to eat 'em as long as they're made with pasteurized milk. There are numerous things I've willingly given up for the sake of a healthy baby, but my creamy goats, salty fetas and funky blues?! Puh-lease.

Grilled Buffalo Chicken, Spinach & Romaine Salad with Sweet & Creamy Blue Cheese Vinaigrette

Serves: 4

Preparation Time: 20-25 minutes (+ time to marinate chicken)

For the salad:

  • 1 lb. chicken breast

  • 1 c. Crystal hot sauce (or your favorite buffalo sauce)

  • 1 bag baby spinach

  • 1 bag romaine lettuce

  • 1 15-oz. can chickpeas, drained & rinsed

  • blue cheese crumbles, for serving

  • croutons, for serving

For the dressing:

  • 1/2 c. blue cheese, crumbled

  • 1/3 c. olive oil

  • 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar

  • 1 tbsp. dijon mustard

  • 1 tbsp. honey

  • 1 tbsp. cream or 1/2 & 1/2

  • 1 tsp. Crystal hot sauce

  • salt/pepper, to taste

Method:

1. Marinate chicken in hot sauce for several hours or overnight. When ready to start cooking, heat grill and add chicken once hot. Grill until chicken is thoroughly cooked in the middle. Remove from grill; set aside and keep warm, allowing the meat to rest.

2. While the chicken is grilling, make the the dressing by adding all ingredients to a jar and shaking vigorously for about a minute. This could also be done the night before.

3. In a large bowl, add spinach, romaine and drained chickpeas. Slice grilled chicken into bite-sized pieces. Pour in as much dressing as desired and toss. Top with more blue cheese crumbles and croutons, if desired.

bottom of page