top of page

Zingy Summer Smoothie

I made a trip to a local co-op yesterday afternoon and spotted a raspberry, banana, orange and ginger smoothie on their juice bar menu. It sounded so fresh and fruity and I love a good zing of ginger. After bawking at the cost and thinking, "I could just go home and throw those things in my own blender!"...that's exactly what I decided to do.

The co-op sells all the necessary ingredients, so you're really just paying extra for someone to push a button on a blender, right? Today I've paid myself to do so instead. Talk about a zingy, zangy bang for my buck.

Zingy Summer Smoothie

photo 1-3_edited.JPG

Serves: 1

Preparation Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

1 medium banana

2 large handfuls fresh raspberries (or about 1 c. frozen)

3/4 c. orange juice

1 tbsp. fresh minced ginger

2 tsp. ground flaxseed (optional)

4 ice cubes (if using fresh raspberries)

Method:

1. Place all ingredients except ice into blender and blend on highest setting for about 1

minute, or until well blended.

2. Once well blended, add in ice cubes using an ice crushing setting until there are no large chunks. Then blend on highest setting again until smooth. (*See note)

3. Pour into a glass, grab your swirly straw and enjoy!

Note: You could probably just throw all these ingredients into the blender and blend to your heart's desire, especially if you have a super heavy-duty blender. Do whatever you feel comfortable with based on the type of blender you have.

photo 2-3_edited_edited.JPG

bottom of page