top of page

Berry Bright Blood Orange Smoothie

Ever had a blood orange? If not, you're missing out. I didn't think they were that out there, but every time I ate one during lunch at work, people wondered what they were. Someone even thought I was eating an orange that had gone bad. Oh, no...it's an orange gone very good! I'd say blood oranges are the superior citrus fruit and their short season just adds to their sultry purply allure.

For the first time, I found bagged blood oranges, similar to clementines. Since they keep for some time in the fridge, I've been continously enjoying said citrus delicacy. I know in the winter a warm beverage might sound more appealing, but citrus and berries give me a big boost while drudging through the endless winter. It's like an instant vacation! So grab a cocktail umbrella and start blending.

IMG_7006_edited.JPG

Serves: 1

Preparation Time: 5 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. pineapple juice (orange juice would work well, too)

  • 2 small or 1 large blood orange

  • 1 ripe banana, sliced

  • 1/2 c. frozen raspberries

  • 1 tbsp. ground flaxmeal (optional)

IMG_6999_edited.JPG

Method: Peel blood orange(s), removing as much of the pithy rind as possible. Separate out into a few segments. Add to blender with the rest of the ingredients. Blend until smooth.

IMG_7010_edited.JPG

bottom of page