top of page

Fried Egg Toast with Sweet Soy Butter, Sriracha & Sambal Matah

Toasts, how I love thee, let me count the ways. Today's way brings an Asian twist and was inspired only by the fact that I figured sambal matah would be delicious on any and all of the things. My procurement of said Indonesian condiment was actually by accident. I meant to pick up some sambal oelek a few weeks ago for a recipe and grabbed this instead. They sell it at Trader Joe's and likely Asian markets, but that's where I happened to buy it. It's a savory mix of lemongrass, shallots and chilies in oil. i'd liken it to an Asian gardiniera. There are all sorts of sambals, most of which I'd never heard of until I looked i up on Wikipedia. The more you know, eh?

I felt like the toast would need something smooth and spreadable on it before it was topped with an egg and I was fresh outta avocado, my typical toast topper. To go with the Asian theme, I decided on a sweet soy buter that I whipped up in a cinch. If you don't lick it straight out of the bowl and actually have some leftover, it would be great on roasted vegetables, chicken or fish. Can you imagine coating sweet potatoes or shrimp with this stuff? Salivation station.

Fried Egg Toast with Sweet Soy Butter, Sriracha & Sambal Matah

IMG_7570_edited.JPG

Serves: 1

Preparation Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. butter, softened to room temperature

  • 2 tsp. dark sweet soy sauce

  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil

  • a few drops of Sriracha sauce

  • 1 slice of bread

  • 1 egg

  • Sriracha & sambal matah, to serve

IMG_7575_edited.JPG

Method:

1. Make the flavored butter by whipping butter, sweet soy, sesame oil and Sriracha in a small dish. If your butter isn't room temperature, you can microwave it for about 10-20 seconds. You don't want it to be a melted pool, but just enough to soften it. Place in freezer for a few minutes to set.

IMG_7568_edited.JPG

2, Toast bread and fry egg. Spread as much of the butter onto the toast, top with the fried egg, more Sriracha and a few spoonfuls of the sambal matah. Save the leftover butter in the fridge for another lunch, or spread on roasted vegetables. .

IMG_7569_edited_edited.JPG
IMG_7571_edited_edited.JPG

bottom of page