top of page

Taco Tuesday: Super Simple Shrimp & Corn Tacos with Avocado & Slaw

Don't worry, I haven't forgotten about Taco Tuesday. I just didn't want to create a food blog that was 1/7th taco recipes...as amazing as that sounds. Taco cravings are hard to deny, though, so here we have another one.

Frozen, raw (as in uncooked) shrimp has always been a staple for me. I used to buy 2-pound bags of 31-40 size shrimp at Whole Foods for $18-20 and could use it in several different meals, making it a relatively cheap and easy protein. Even at our local co-op in Madison, raw 31-40 shrimp was only about $10/pound, so it was quite a disappointment when I couldn't seem to find raw shrimp (that isn't super teeny tiny, that is) for less than $16.99/pound when we moved to Minneapolis. I finally found some at Target the other day for about $13/pound and was pleasantly surprised when I read up on their sustainable seafood practices. I might be able to finally sustain my shrimp habit now...

Back to the tacos. Shrimp is one of my favorite taco fillings and probably takes the least amount of time to cook. With a well-stocked (and well-spiced) kitchen, these tacos sure come together in a cinch. So kick your feet up and enjoy Taco Tuesday.

Super Simple Shrimp & Corn Tacos with Avocado & Slaw

photo 3-30_edited.JPG

Serves: 2

Preparation Time: 15 minutes

photo 2-32_edited.JPG

Ingredients:

1 tbsp. your favorite chipotle sauce

1 tbsp. oil (I used a canola-coconut blend)

1 tsp. honey

1 tsp. lime juice

1 tsp. rice vinegar

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp. cumin

1 tsp. smoked paprika

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. dried oregano

salt/pepper, to taste

cooking spray (I used my new favorite coconut oil spray from Trader Joe's)

20-25 raw shrimp (I used 41-50 size and filled 4 small tortillas), peeled & deveined

1/3 c. frozen corn

To Serve:

tortillas (I used corn)

sour cream or Greek yogurt

broccoli slaw or thinly sliced cabbage (I used Organic Broccoli Slaw from Trader Joe's - so cheap and convenient!)

avocado, sliced or diced

your favorite salsa

Method:

1. Mix first ten ingredients in a bowl large enough to fit the shrimp and whisk until well combined. Taste and add salt/pepper as desired. Place shrimp in bowl with the marinate for a few minutes while preparing the rest of the meal (but no more than 20 minutes).

photo 1-35_edited.JPG

2. While shrimp are marinating, slice avocado if planning to use and warm tortillas in an oven heated to about 200 degrees.

3. Spray a saute pan with cooking spray and bring to medium-high heat. Once hot, add in shrimp and all of the marinade, stir well and add in frozen corn. Shrimp will be done when they have curled slightly and have turned pink. Remove from heat.

4. Fill tortillas with shrimp and corn mixture. Top with broccoli slaw/cabbage, avocado, salsa and sour cream/Greek yogurt.

bottom of page