top of page

Chicken & Rice & All Things Nice: Lemon Pepper Chicken Thighs, Spicy Sweet Carrots & Fra

Every culture seems to have some version of chicken and rice. Maybe it's a nod to its simplicity, or maybe it's because it's just so darn good no matter the accompanying flavors. I ate it growing up but didn't really appreciate it at the time. That said, I still think back fondly to the particular smell that would exude from the kitchen when my parents made chicken and rice.

I also remember my parents {sometimes overzealous} love of lemon pepper. Was that a 90s thing? All I know is it was a bit much for my elementary and middle school palate. I don't know if it was the lemon or the pepper, but man, it wasn't my thing. Ironically, I very much enjoy it now and used it as the main seasoning for these rich, flavorful chicken thighs. I pan-fried them in a little bit of butter, deglazed the pan with a little dry vermouth and popped them in the oven to finish. I hate to use the word "moist" but that's exactly what they were.

The rice pilaf is not my own recipe, but a delicious one I borrowed from Bon Appetit. They gave a few different combinations for pilaf that I'm excited to try and absolutely loved this particular one. Any of the combinations would go well with simple chicken thighs. The carrots balanced out the homy savory flavors of the chicken and rice by providing a roasty sweetness with a smidge of spiciness.

Lemon Pepper Chicken Thighs, Spicy Sweet Carrots & Fragrant Rice Pilaf

Serves: 2

Preparation Time: 30-45 minutes

For the chicken:

  • 4-6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs

  • 1-2 tsp. lemon pepper

  • 1/2 lemon

  • 1 tbsp. butter

  • dry vermouth, or white wine, for deglazing

For the rice pilaf:

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil or butter

  • 1/2 tsp. turmeric

  • 1 c. rice (I used brown)

  • 2. broth of your choice (I used chicken)

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

  • 2 tbsp. fresh cilantro, chopped

  • 2 tbsp. fresh fennel fronds, chopped

  • 2 tbsp. sliced almonds

For the carrots:

  • 3 large carrots, peeled & cut into 2-3 in. sticks

  • 1 tbsp. olive oil

  • 1 tbsp. honey

  • 1 tsp. rice vinegar

  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

  • handful of fresh herbs, chopped, or a tbsp. or two of dried herbs (I've used fresh cilantro and good quality dried parsley, both were good - parsley pictured here)

  • salt/pepper, to taste

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place chicken thighs in a large bowl. Sprinkle with lemon pepper and the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Set aside to marinate briefly while you prepare other parts of the dish.

2. Hop on over to Bon Appetit to read the instructions for the rice pilaf and get this started. The only differences I made to the pilaf were using brown rice and omiting the onion since I (gasp) didn't have any on hand for once in my life!

3. Place carrots in a large baking dish with sides. Drizzle olive oil, honey, rice vinegar, red pepper flakes, minced garlic, herbs and a dash of salt and pepper. Stir in dish until all the carrots are well coat. Place in preheated oven and start to roast.

4. In a saute pan that has a lid and can go on the stove top and in the oven, heat 1 tbsp. butter over medium-high heat. Once melted, add chicken thighs. Brown on each side and then deglaze the pan with a splash of dry vermouth or white wine. Remove from heat, cover and place in oven with carrots to finish.

5. Roast until the carrots are soft and slightly charred on the edges. The chicken should be done at this point, as well. Remove both dishes from the oven. Serve the chicken and carrots with rice pilaf.

bottom of page